I officially have an obsession with yellow. It all started when I was on the hunt for a pair of yellow shoes to spice up my wardrobe. Unfortunately I have yet to find that perfect pair of yellow flats, wedges, or heels but along the way I started to notice all the other yellow goodies in the world. Since then, I have collected yellow shirts, yellow jewelry, and an amazing yellow purse. As I was saying….I’m obsessed.

After the revamp of the living room, it seemed only natural for me to find a way to sneak in some yellow for a little pizzazz in the room. Right now the room is quite calm and soothing with our color choices but it is screaming for a little more personality and if yellow doesn’t say personality then I don’t know what does! The hard part was determining where to bring in the yellow and that’s when I had a light bulb moment…lamps (pun most definitely intended)! Yellow lamps on each side of the sofa would be perfect since (1) we currently only have one lamp and it makes the side tables completely unbalanced and (2) I love having different lighting levels in the room for different occassions or at least I think I would like having different light levels because currently I only have two: on or off. Unfortunately once I started the hunt for yellow lamps, I quickly came up empty-handed. That’s when I had another bright (he he) idea. The lamp doesn’t have to start out yellow. I can totally DIY that! That’s when I headed to our local Habitat for Humanity ReStore and came home with these beauties for a total of $10!

Aside from the mismatched harps (yep, that’s what the metal things on top that hold the shade are called, who knew?!), they were in perfect condition. The ReStore has a surge protector and light bulbs on site so you can test the lamps before you buy. Also you can return them within 30 days if something doesn’t work so I had no qualms about bringing these babies home! I first started researching lamp harps to make sure that I could replace the existing ones. I was in luck! Just about everyone sells them, from Wal-mart to Target to Amazon.com. I purchased mine from Target for $6 a pop.

The next step was to get these babies ready for a beautiful coat of yellow paint. I started by collecting all my supplies: Cleaning solution, Oil based primer spray paint, sand paper, painters tape, plastic bags and a clean rag.

You always want to clean your item thoroughly before applying primer. If I’ve learned nothing else from my woodworker husband, this is the one thing that I will always remember! If you don’t clean it properly then you have no chance of any new finish “sticking”. Your new finish will simply wear off if there is dirt between it and your precious decor.  

After cleaning my brass beauty, I took two plastic bags (you can use any leftover from your recent grocery expedition) and stuffed the socket and wrapped the cord. That way when I started spraying, I didn’t have to worry about getting paint on anything that shouldn’t have paint. I can be very dangerous with a can of spray paint!

With everything wrapped and clean as a whistle, I primed. I used an oil based primer by Kilz since it needed to adhere to metal. I find that oil will stick to anything while water based can be a little less cooperative.

Don’t they look even better just in the primed phase! I instantly got excited. Which doesn’t say a lot since I get excited over new dish towels but all the same, I was stoked for the next step! Bring on the yellow! I decided to go with a ready made spray paint instead of having some custom mixed and asking my poor husband to spray it with his industrial paint sprayer which he uses for all his custom cabinetry and millwork. The last thing he needs is another thing on his honey-do list. Aren’t I sweet?! I will tell you that yellow spray paint must not be in very high demand because I only had about (3) options. I finally settled on Krylon Bright Idea in Gloss.

I took the time to sand a little before applying my glossy Bright Idea (another tip from the woodworker). Then it was (2) thin coats of my sunny yellow and we had this!

Hello good lookin’! I just love how they turned out. I will gradually add some more yellow in the room so that it seems a bit more cohesive. For example, I just added some lemons on our dining table (in the picture above) and yellow dish towels in the kitchen! At least (3) items in the same color help an accent seem more intentional in a room.

My biggest dilemma now is a shade. I definitely want a drum shade but can’t quite decide what color. I found thisa creamy linen option at my local target store similar to the one below and instantly fell in love with the texture. However there is always the opportunity to keep it simple with a crisp white drum shade which was my initial instinct. And of course we can’t forget about the classic yellow and gray combo! Any suggestions out there?

Hardback Drum Cream Linen Lamp Shade 15x16x11 (Spider)

White Horizontal Pleat Drum Lamp Shade 11x11x7.5 (Spider)Platinum Grey Dupioni Lamp Shade 15x16x11x11 (Spider)

