Now that I’ve spent the last few posts completely boring you with my shaky pencil line sketches of the kitchen, I’m finally going to inject some color! Wes and I sat down last weekend and pulled paints, products, and brainstormed a schedule. My ideal Saturday…*sigh*. Here is what we came up with.

Of course now you are thinking…”I thought you mentioned color in this post”. I know, I know. It’s neutral city over here and I love it. We decided to keep things as fresh as possible in our little kitchen since we are low on space and jampacked with cabinetry. We are going to rip out our lovely vinyl flooring and replace it with red oak hardwoods to match the rest of the house. Luckily my woodworker husband is talented enough to stain them to match the existing. To really let those hardwoods steal the show and not compete with our existing stained cabinets (blah), we are going to paint the cabs Benjamin Moore Swiss Coffee and replace the hardware with oil rubbed bronze pulls and cup pulls. Love it!

Our existing plastic laminate countertops have to go also because…well…they make me gag and…nope, thats all. They just make me gag. We are going to replace them with…wait for it…butcher block countertops! Shut your face! I know, I’m excited too! The lovely Ikea has butcherblock countertops for $59 and that is for 9 feet. I haven’t decided if I’m going to stain them a darker color or if I’ll leave them au natural. Any thoughts?

For the perfect backdrop to the little gems above, we are coming in with Glidden’s Quiet Light on the walls. A soft creamy green (its the stripe of color at the top). I’ll probably bring in some bursts of color with dishtowels and maybe a rug in front of the sink but other than that, we’re going to stick with neutrals. Including art. I have this (brilliant) idea to create some custom art and cover our electrical panel with it. That way we can easily access the panel but not have to look at it on a daily basis. I know this doesn’t seem brilliant because it’s so simple but I certainly hadn’t thought about it until now. And don’t worry, I’ll be sure to do a post on how-to create your own “cover-that-eyesore” artwork soon.

So what do you think…boring, beautiful, sophisticated, lame? I’m starting to get excited!!

